General information about the Erasmus+ programme

Erasmus+ is the largest European Union programme to support education, training, youth and sport and is set to last 2014 to 2020. It includes all European and international programmes and initiatives of the European Union in the fields of education (general education, higher education, adult education), training (vocational education and training), youth and sport.

Erasmus+ is aimed at enhancing the knowledge, skills and employability of European citizens, as well as improving education, training and working in the field of youth and sport. It is particularly focused on linking the education, training and youth sectors with the business sector and is open to their joint projects.

Erasmus+ offers international mobility opportunities for individuals and international collaborations for organizations, including:

  • spending a study period abroad,
  • professional practice,
  • professional development and training,
  • volunteering,
  • youth exchange,
  • working on international projects aimed at modernizing and internationalizing sectors of education, training, youth and sport.

Interested individuals apply through their institutions. In addition, the programme offers opportunities for collaboration with institutions around the world through Joint Master Degrees and Capacity Building in the field of Higher Education.


 The objectives of the Erasmus+ programme

Erasmus+ brings a number of novelties compared to its predecessor programmes. The most important ones are:

  • strengthening the linkage of EU policies with grant programmes
  • simplification of the structure and implementation: activities organized by areas, simpler financial support calculations (flat rates)
  • emphasis on the project quality (mobility content, product/result)
  • stronger dissemination and better utilization of the project results
  • sustainability of results upon project completion
  • better integration with labour market needs
  • greater EU added value.

Programme Countries include Member States of the European Union, Macedonia, Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein and Turkey.

The purpose of staying at a foreign institution for the teaching staff is to provide teaching or professional development, while for non-teaching staff it is professional development. Teachers applying for a teaching activity should hold a scientific-educational, artistic-teaching or teaching title. Employees in the position of research assistant or assistant may apply for a teaching activity, provided that they are involved in the teaching at the home institution.

For the vocational training activity, applicants may be members of the teaching and non-teaching staff.


Erasmus+ Incoming students

Courses in English language for exchange students


Erasmus coordinator:

Assistant Professor Vjekoslav Galzina, PhD

e-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Phone: +385 31 321 702



The Central European Exchange Programme for University Studies (CEEPUS) is a regional academic mobility programme. The Central European Exchange Programme began on 1 December 1994, when the CEEPUS Agreement was signed in Budapest in 1993. Croatia signed the CEEPUS Treaty in 1995, with the following countries traditionally participating in the programme: Albania, Austria, Bulgaria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Czech Republic, Hungary, Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Serbia. In the academic year 2009/2010. The programme was also joined by the University of Pristina in Kosovo, and in the academic year 2011/2012 by Moldova.

Each year, CEEPUS signatories set a quota of available scholarships for incoming mobility in the "one-month scholarship" currency. Countries also set the scholarship amounts for different categories of scholarship recipients, as well as other entitlements of CEEPUS grantees (e.g. free accommodation, subsidized food, health insurance). Scholarships are dependent on the standard of living in each country and must be sufficient for the needs of mobility. Students are also exempt from paying tuition fees.


CEEPUS coordinator:

Assistant Professor Vjekoslav Galzina, PhD

e-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.